Kenyan Diaries – Day 29

I am currently sitting cross-legged at the back of the plane, with a black coffee on the table, my thick shuka wrapped around my shoulders and a beautiful view of what now might be North Carolina to my right. With my initial flight from Nairobi to Frankfurt smooth, I only encountered trouble trying to get on my Frankfurt to Chicago flight. With an apparent glitch in the system and a slight incompetence of the staff regarding Canadian student visas, I was not allowed on board. Sitting for hours in Frankfurt airport, I was finally given a waitlisted ticket on a direct flight to Vancouver (the same flight as Yuki, Leah, and Doris). Unfortunately, their flight was fully booked, so instead, I had to head over to Untied Airways customer service to get a rebooking. My misfortune continued as I was unhappily greeted by a woman by the name of Lourdes, who was just about to finish her shift so my mere presence was already an annoyance. She basically told me I wasn’t her problem, so I politely asked her how I will get to Vancouver if everyone I have spoken to thus far has told me to speak to her. She grumpily made a few phone calls in German, and as she did I considered explaining to her a concept we had taught in class about correct customer service practice named GUEST.

G: Greet the customer

U: Understand the issue

E: Explain

S: Solve

T: Thank/ Tell them to buy

I chose not to, and instead focused on remembering her name for when I formally complain to the airline. Thanks, Lourdes!!!! Eventually, realizing I was, in fact, her problem, she booked me on a super inconvenient flight first to Washington DC that would arrive that evening, then a subsequent flight the next morning to San Fransisco, followed by a short layover and then a final flight to Vancouver. I begrudgingly agreed, seeing no other real option, and with little success asked the next lady if they will pay for my hotel in Washington DC. Sleeping the entire flight there, I arrived feeling a lot better and ready for my hotel stay in the Hyatt (it’s important to treat yourself in times like these right?), with a short delay in getting my bags, I finally arrived, dumped my stuff right by the door, and searched online for food options. By a process of elimination (everything was closed), I settled on Dominoes. Like I said, treat yourself. Eating until I was more than full, I settled down for basically a long nap of about 3 and a half hours until it was time to head back to the airport. Running on two cups of coffee I am finishing off my blog posts for this trip. It has been amazing. I will hold these memories dearly for life. I am almost happy that the delay in my trip home as occurred as I had such a beautiful morning watching the sun rise over the amazingly green Washington D.C. as we took off and I’ve had much more time to reflect on the trip before normal life gets in the way. As we soar above the clouds I count my blessings… what a month.

Special thanks to Kait, Allison, Val, Elaine, Ben, VJ, Hayden, Paul, Leah, Yuki, Doris, Janet, Nicole, Quinn, and Aggie for the memories, laughter, kindness, and love.

Guys, it’s been great.

Leave a Reply

