Kenya Diaries – Day 9

Today was tough.

We woke up early and headed to Mathare, my energy was high getting into the car but quickly diminished 10 minutes into the ride. We got dropped off and immediately noticed that the classroom was locked which is not too unusual as this happened one out of the two times we have taught. The classroom, however, was also locked, so we had to wait for about 45 minutes outside until finally, Daniel came to let us in. I spoke with Lucky and Moore for most of it, bonding over his new haircut and English football teams. The class then started behind schedule and as VJ nicely put it “it felt as though we had gotten up on the wrong side of the bed.” The class was slightly chaotic, and hard to control. I felt my lecture was relatively poor compared to my other performances, mostly due to my lack of energy, yet Paul still asked me to speak at Strathmore on Thursday which gave me a little confidence boost.

The activities went pretty well overall, Colleen and Tom came over to check on our teaching, and people seemed to be really thinking through their ideas. The students now seemed comfortable drilling their classmates with copious amounts of questions on how certain aspects of their business works, as well as if they think it’s a good idea at all. One student, Dianna, wants to create a rehabilitation center in Nairobi. She told us that currently there is only one in the whole of Kenya and the drug problem is so bad that the President and 10-year-olds are doing it. This woman is amazing. She is so inspiring and really trying to make a difference, yet you can see the constant struggle she is going to have to go through to even impact just one family. We ended the class slightly late, and Lucky handed me his phone number on a piece of paper and told me to call him. I’ll have to remind myself not to mix work and pleasure, hah.

We then came home and it was nice to have some time to catch up on skyping people and replying to messages, before our communal dinner of leftovers and lesson planning.

A successful day in the end, and again, I am excited for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

